Nature Calling!

My friend Elya, who inspired/motivated me to start this blog, truly belongs in Japanese culture, despite her “whiteness.” Right now, the fashion trend that has caught her latest fancy is called Mori Girl. It has been a rising trend in Japan since 2007 – literally translated, Mori means Forest. So this trend is all about nature, natural colours and textures as well as, I noticed, very vintage inspired. And Elya is all about her accessories!

She showed me a few hair pieces she liked and so I decided to make some pieces for her, inspired by the trend and the pictures she showed me.

This is the first accessory she showed me – very simple and natural: feather & bow headband

And this was my response to that:

Materials for Mori Girl Barrettes

Mori Girl Inspired Barrettes

I also made a piece that was inspired by this vintage lace headband that was a bit too creepy because it looked like ear muffs and one side had a stuffed bear on it (which you can’t see in this image, but if you go to http://www.littleforestgirl.net/2010/11/trendwatching-two-tone-hair-on-mori.html, you will be able to see both sides). My headband was a little bit more colorful than what you would normally find on the streets of Japan for this trend, but I liked how it turned out quite a bit.

*Just a note, I didn’t use all of the flowers I had chosen in the final piece, as it would’ve been too overwhelming and tacky.

Mori Girl Headband Materials

Colorful Mori Girl Lace Headband

The last hair accessory that I made was actually my first vision when Elya talked about Mori Girl fashion. I had a piece of bark in my crafting box for probably over 15 years that I loved the shape of, but never knew what to use it for. Until now! This is, by far, my most enjoyable creation at this time. It spoke to me of nature, vintage, and being girly, but still a simple concept and not overpowering.

*Another note, I didn’t feel the final piece needed all of the beads I had originally chosen, so I saved the 4 clear diamond-like beads for another project to be done before August.

Mori Girl Hair Clip Materials

Pretty Girly Mori Girl Hair Clip

Pretty Girly Mori Girl Hair Clip

All of the items I used I had already – I didn’t need to buy anything for this project. The doily I used was stained – it had been stained by purple candle wax and was completely ruined. I had actually stitched 8 lb. fishing line in the doily to connect unsoiled parts of it in order to hide the fact that it was stained. All of the buttons I used were from a large “collection” I had acquired from my husband’s grandma when we were helping her downsize to move. Any hair accessories I used as the base for the pieces were all ones I hadn’t used in years. The foliage was from wedding centerpieces and Valentine’s chocolate boxes and the dangling pearls in the lace headband were from a pair of clip on earrings that had broken (*remember this last one for that project to be completed before August). The doily in the forest clip was a plain white paper doily, which can be seen in the picture of the materials, but I dyed it in some weak tea overnight, folded it while it was still wet, let it dry, sprayed it with an adhesive spray and then a layer of Scotch Guard – drying time in between, of course – and the final product is what is seen in the completed creation.

The only tools I used to make all of these hair pieces are my trusty low temperature craft glue gun and a sewing needle with 8 lb. fishing line.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Published in: on June 18, 2011 at 2:27 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dilettantedesire.wordpress.com/2011/06/18/nature-calling/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

